Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

The Official Website of

WNY FLASH

News

Offseason Update: October 12-18

OFFSEASON UPDATE
10/19/2015 11:00 AM -

It was a busy weekend abroad for all five Western New York Flash players, with the Westfield W-League beginning play, a Championship in Cyprus and a debut in Japan.

Here’s a look at the past week of the offseason:

A Look Back: October 12-18

Dahlkemper Debuts as Adelaide Rallies for the Draw
Flash defender Abby Dahlkemper got the start at center back on Saturday in Australia, with the Lady Reds facing the Western Sydney Wanderers. Adelaide went down 2-0 in the first half, but the club rallied to steal a point with equalizing goals in the second 45. 
Official Game Report

Heyman Scores, but Canberra Falls to Brisbane
The defending W-League Champions entered Round 1 looking to knock off the Brisbane Roar, but fell 2-1 on the road. United’s lone goal came in the 39th minute from none other than Michelle Heyman, who tallied her 51st W-League goal – the most in league history. 
Official Game Report

Spencer, Sydney FC Shutout by Melbourne
Sydney FC hosted expansion side Melbourne City on Sunday, and the new club came away with a resounding 6-0 win. 2014-15 Sydney FC Player of the Year Jasmyne Spencer got the start, and played all 90 minutes for the Sky Blues.  
 
Nick’s Goal Helps Apollon to Super Cup Title
The Apollon Ladies won another Super Cup title this weekend, defeating Lefkothea 6-1. Flash midfielder Ashley Nick, who saw her first time while on loan with Apollon, scored a goal to help the team claim its sixth Cypriot Super Cup.
 
Eddy Enters in Second Half; Yunogo Ties Iga
On Sunday, Japanese side Yunogo Belle played to a scoreless draw with Iga Kunoichi. Elizabeth Eddy saw her first minutes while overseas, coming in after the halftime break for Yunogo. 


A Look Ahead: October 19-25
USA vs. Brazil – Wed., Oct. 21, 2015
CenturyLink Field, 10 p.m. ET (7 p.m. PT) on ESPN2
The U.S. Women’s National Team will continue its Victory Tour on Wednesday, facing No. 7 Brazil in Seattle. Four Flash players have been called to camp and will be available to play in the match: Sydney Leroux, Whitney Engen, Samantha Mewis and Jaelene Hinkle. 
Follow USWNT on Twitter
Watch Live

Canberra United vs. Sydney FC – Sat., Oct. 24, 2015
McKellar Park, 1 a.m. ET (4 p.m. AEDT)
Saturday will see the first clash of two Flash players, as Michelle Heyman and Jasmyne Spencer face off in W-League play. The goalscorers will go head-to-head, looking to help their respective clubs to its first three points.
 
Apollon vs. Lefkothea – Sun., Oct. 25, 2015
Tsirion Stadium, 10 a.m. ET (5 p.m. EEST)
Ashley Nick and Apollon will have a quick rematch with Lefkothea, who it defeated on Sunday for the Super Cup title. 
 
Yunogo Belle at AS Saitama – Sun., Oct. 25, 2015
Kumagaya Athletic Stadium, 12 a.m. ET (1 p.m. JST)
Yunogo Belle continues play in the Nadeshiko League on Sunday, facing AS Saitama on the road. The team will look to snap a two-game winless streak, having drawn in its last two matches.
 
USA vs. Brazil – Sun., Oct. 25, 2015
Citrus Bowl, 2:30 p.m. ET on Fox Sports 1
The USA will again face the Brazilians, this time traveling to Orlando for a Victory Tour matchup in the Citrus Bowl on Sunday. 
 

About WNY Flash

The Western New York Flash is one of nine members of the National Women’s Soccer League. The club won the inaugural NWSL Shield after finishing the 2013 with the best regular-season record. Fans can keep up-to-date on the most recent Flash news by following the Flash’s official Twitter account (@WNYFlash) or by liking the team’s Facebook page.

 

- - - www.WNYFlash.com - - -

 



Search Archive »




Browse by Year »

2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012