The Official Website of



Leroux, Hinkle and Mewis get USWNT Call

11/24/2015 11:06 AM -

Western New York Flash players Sydney Leroux, Samantha Mewis and Jaelene Hinkle have been named to a 28-player roster that will round out the U.S. Women’s National Team’s Victory tour with four matches in December. 

The WNT will take on Trinidad &Tobago on Dec. 6 at Aloha Stadium in Honolulu (3 p.m. local/8 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1/FOX Sports GO) and Dec. 10 at the Alamodome in San Antonio (8 p.m. CT on ESPN2/WatchESPN), before finishing one of the most successful years in program history with matches against China PR on Dec. 13 at the University of Phoenix Stadium in Glendale, Arizona (5 p.m. MT on ESPN2/WatchESPN), and Dec. 16 at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans (7 p.m. CT on FOX Sports 1/FOX Sports GO).

The match in New Orleans will be the final game for retiring U.S., and former Flash, forward Abby Wambach, who is the world’s all-time leading international scorer with 184 career goals in 252 caps.

The trio was called into camp for the WNT’s most recent matches, with Mewis and Hinkle appearing in a 1-1 draw with Brazil on October 21. The match marked the fourth international cap for Mewis, while it was the first senior national team appearance for Hinkle. 

Leroux, a 2015 Women’s World Cup Champion, has 75 caps and 35 goals all-time for the U.S.A. 

Season tickets to see Leroux, Mewis, Hinkle and the rest of the 2016 WNY Flash are now available at wnyflash.com or by calling (716) 655-PLAY. 

The full, 28-player roster is as follows:

U.S. Women’s National Team Roster by Position
GOALKEEPERS (3): Ashlyn Harris (Orlando Pride), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars), Hope Solo (Seattle Reign FC)
DEFENDERS (10): Crystal Dunn (Washington Spirit), Whitney Engen (Boston Breakers), Jaelene Hinkle (Western NY Flash), Julie Johnston (Chicago Red Stars), Meghan Klingenberg (Portland Thorns FC), Ali Krieger (Washington Spirit), Kelley O’Hara (Sky Blue FC), Christie Rampone (Sky Blue FC), Becky Sauerbrunn (FC Kansas City), Emily Sonnett (Univ. of Virginia)
MIDFIELDERS (8): Morgan Brian (Houston Dash), Danielle Colaprico (Chicago Red Stars), Tobin Heath (Portland Thorns FC), Rose Lavelle (Wisconsin), Carli Lloyd (Houston Dash), Samantha Mewis (Western NY Flash), Heather O’Reilly (FC Kansas City), Megan Rapinoe (Seattle Reign FC)
FORWARDS (7): Lindsey Horan (PSG), Sydney Leroux (Western NY Flash), Stephanie McCaffrey (Boston Breakers), Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride), Christen Press (Chicago Red Stars), Amy Rodriguez (FC Kansas City), Abby Wambach (unattached)


About WNY Flash

The Western New York Flash is one of nine members of the National Women’s Soccer League. The club won the inaugural NWSL Shield after finishing the 2013 with the best regular-season record. Fans can keep up-to-date on the most recent Flash news by following the Flash’s official Twitter account (@WNYFlash) or by liking the team’s Facebook page.


- - - www.WNYFlash.com - - -


Search Archive »

Browse by Year »