Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

The Official Website of

WNY FLASH

News

Offseason Update: Dec. 7-13

OFFSEASON UPDATE
12/15/2015 12:00 PM -

It was a busy past week of the offseason, and will be a busy week ahead, when Western New York Flash players on loan and with their national teams hit the pitch. 

Here’s a look at the past week of the offseason:
 

A Look Back: December 7-13

Hinkle Gets Two More Caps as US Adds Two More Wins (USA)
The U.S. Women’s National Team played its eighth and ninth matches of its Victory Tour, facing Trinidad & Tobago in San Antonio on Thursday and China in Phoenix on Sunday. Thursday’s match concluded in a 6-0 win for the US and the team followed up with another shutout, beating China 2-0 on Sunday. Jaelene Hinkle earned her second and third career caps, entering at halftime in both matches.
Official Game Report: USA 6, T&T 0
Official Game Report: USA 2, China 0

Heyman Brace Lifts Canberra Over Dahlkemper and Adelaide (Australia)
Two members of the Flash faced off on Saturday, with Canberra United and Michelle Heyman hosting Abby Dahlkemper and Adelaide. It was the host team that came out on top, shutting out the visitors 4-0 in Round 9 of the W-League. Heyman scored two goals on the day, including the game-winner, with tallies in the 9th and 81st minutes. 
Official Game Report

Nick Returns to the Field; Nets Two Goals (Cyprus)
Midfielder Ashley Nick was back in action with Apollon Limassol after missing multiple matches while recovering from an injury. Nick returned strong, scoring two goals and helping lead Apollon to a 13-0 win over Paphian on Sunday. 
Official Game Report

 

A Look Ahead: December 14-20

USA vs. China – Weds. Dec. 16, 2015 (USA)
Mercedes-Benz Superdome, 8 p.m. ET (7 p.m. CT)
The U.S. Women’s National Team will close out its 2015 Victory Tour on Wednesday, facing China in New Orleans. The match will be historic, as former Flash forward and the world’s all-time leading goal scorer Abby Wambach plays for the final time. 
Follow USWNT on Twitter
Watch #USAvCHN

Elfen Saitama vs. INAC Kobe – Sat., Dec. 19, 2015 (Japan)
Ajinomoto Stadium, 9 p.m. ET (11 a.m. JST – next day)
Abby Erceg and Saitama continue play in the Empress Cup, facing INAC Kobe Leonessa on Sunday in the quarterfinal in Japan. Kobe has a strong history in the tournament, having won four-straight titles from 2010-2013. 

Adelaide at Newcastle – Sat., Dec. 19, 2015 (Australia)
Magic Park, 11 p.m. ET (3:0 p.m. AEST – next day)
Adelaide and Abby Dahlkemper remain on the road for Round 10, traveling to face the Newcastle Jets. The two clubs met four games ago, playing to a 1-1 draw in Adelaide.
Follow Adelaide on Twitter

Canberra vs. Melbourne – Sun., Dec. 20, 2015 (Australia)
McKellar Park, 12 a.m. ET (3 p.m. AEST)
Currently in second place in the ladder, Canberra and Michelle Heyman will look to further its distance from the pack when it welcomes the Melbourne Victory on Sunday. Canberra is currently three points ahead of Sydney FC, as the hunt to secure the postseason continues late in the W-League season.
Follow Canberra on Twitter

Apollon vs. Lefkothea – Sun., Dec. 20, 2015 (Cyprus)
Tsirion Stadium, 4 a.m. ET (11 a.m. EET)
Apollon and Ashley Nick return home on Sunday, welcoming Lefkothea for the 8th Leg match. The two clubs met in the first match of the season, playing to a 2-2 draw after a 62nd-minute equalizer from Nick.

 

About WNY Flash

The Western New York Flash is one of nine members of the National Women’s Soccer League. The club won the inaugural NWSL Shield after finishing the 2013 with the best regular-season record. Fans can keep up-to-date on the most recent Flash news by following the Flash’s official Twitter account (@WNYFlash) or by liking the team’s Facebook page.

 

- - - www.WNYFlash.com - - -

 



Search Archive »




Browse by Year »

2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012