Facebook
Twitter
Newsletter

The Official Website of

WNY FLASH

News

Offseason Update: Jan. 11-17

OFFSEASON UPDATE
01/19/2016 8:48 AM -

The National Women’s Soccer League’s 2016 NWSL Draft kicked off a big weekend for the Flash, as the tail end of the season approaches for players on loan. 

Here’s a look at the past week of the Flash offseason:
 

A Look Back: January 11-17

Heyman, Dahlkemper Split Points; Adelaide Out of Finals (Australia)
Adelaide United and Abby Dahlkemper needed to take all three points from this weekend’s match, facing Canberra United and Michelle Heyman who had already booked their ticket to the postseason. However, the Lady Reds could not find the victory, drawing 1-1 in the match. Canberra scored first, but Dahlkemper put in her fifth goal in four games, to equalize things near the end of the first half. 
Official Game Report

Apollon Continues Unbeaten Streak (Cyprus)
The Apollon Ladies and Ashley Nick continued its dominance of the Cypriot Division on Sunday, defeating Dafni Troullon 7-0 at home. Apollon continues to play without a single blemish on its record, having not lost a match and allowed only two goals thus far this season. 
Official Game Report


A Look Ahead: January 18-24

Canberra vs. Sydney – Sat., Jan. 23, 2016 (Australia)
McKellar Park, 10 p.m. ET (2:00 p.m. AEST – next day)
Second-ranked Canberra United hosts Sydney FC this weekend as the W-League Finals kick off in Australia. Canberra and Heyman will look to take the semifinal match and continue its defense of the W-League crown. 
Follow Canberra on Twitter

Apollon at Anorthosis– Sun., Jan. 24, 2016 (Cyprus)
Dimotiko Stadio Sotiras, 4 a.m. ET (11 a.m. EET)
With just three games left in the Cypriot season, Apollon will travel to Anorthosis on Sunday with hopes to continue its near-perfect season.  The two teams faced once this year, with Apollon and Nick winning 3-0
Follow Apollon on Twitter

USA vs. Ireland – Sun., Jan. 23, 2016 (USA)
Qualcomm Stadium, 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT)
The U.S. Women’s National Team continues its Road to Rio on Sunday when it faces the Republic of Ireland in its final friendly before Olympic qualifying. The match will kickoff at 5 p.m. ET from San Diego, with new U.S. allocations Samantha Mewis and Jaelene Hinkle available for selection. 
Follow USWNT on Twitter
Watch #USAvIRL

 

About WNY Flash

The Western New York Flash is one of ten members of the National Women’s Soccer League. The club won the inaugural NWSL Shield after finishing the 2013 with the best regular-season record. Fans can keep up-to-date on the most recent Flash news by following the Flash’s official Twitter account (@WNYFlash) or by liking the team’s Facebook page.

 

- - - www.WNYFlash.com - - -

 



Search Archive »




Browse by Year »

2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012